Need some input please on building a small boat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some input please on building a small boat

Hello all , I have some questions about boat building. I am a woodworker and have all the tools required to build a plywood boat...What I am wanting to do is build a flat bottom 8' or slightly shorter punt style boat ( like a john boat or similar that require 2 sheets of ply, not 3 like most plans seem to call for..It can have a pointed bow but must be stable. Some plans I have seen similar to a john boat require 3 sheets and at a price of about 80 bucks a sheet thats getting pretty pricey..I am looking for a plan that has full size patterns, make things a little more simplified. I have gone to several sites that carry the full size pattern plans but nothing in the flat bottom 8 foot size thats appealing..I did find a john boat but it was a 12 footer..Does a guy really need to go with a set of plans? I currently own an aluminum 12 foot John boat that I wouldnt mind making out of wood but to scale the size down from 12 feet to 8 I am not sure on how thats done...Sure wouldnt want to hack up two nice sheets of Okoume and make firewood later out of it lol ... I have a shop big enough to build a boat, however its not a heated shop and I know that the epoxy resins if used require heat to cure properly so a question , is there a way to build boats other then using that expensive epoxy resin, stitch and Glue method)? I have heard that some have built boats not using epoxy and are apparently quite stable and strong. I guess the traditional method - frame on skin is one way? But is exposy resin used in traditional boat building as well or is there a work around to using all that stuff? I am trying to steer away from the epoxy and fiberglassing if possible hence why I mentioned using Okoume wood about the best one can use for marine ply ( So I am told ). Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

regards,

Terry

Hi Terry: